Links

Agrecol networking points in Senegal and Bolivia

Two networking points emerged from the decentralisation of the Agrecol Documentation Centre in Langenbruck, Switzerland in the 1990s: AgrecolAfrique in Senegal und AgrecolAndes in Bolivia. They promote the ecologisation of small-scale farming in West Africa and in the Andes of South America. Their aim is to help farmers, agricultural advisors and researchers in farmer organisations, nongovernmental development organisations and government services to develop, test and disseminate agricultural concepts and methods that are adapted to local ecological conditions, make economic sense, and are socially and culturally sound.

Both AgrecolAfrique and AgrecolAndes are independent organisations.

Agrecol–Afrique

http://www.agrecolafrique.org
Agrecol–Afrique is a nongovernmental organisation (NGO) that has been implementing projects to promote agroecological and organic farming in Senegal since 1996. It is based in the town of Thiès. Agrecol–Afrique works towards food security in Senegal and more widely in West Africa. With the involvement of various actors in agricultural and rural development, Agrecol-Afrique staff members provide information, training and advice on agroecological and organic farming. Agrecol–Afrique is a leading member of a national association founded in 2009 to promote organic farming (FENAB – Fédération Nationale pour l'Agriculture Biologique). The NGO coordinates the work of the Prolinnova network in Senegal.

Agrecol–Andes

http://www.agrecolandes.org
The Agrecol–Andes Foundation was set up in 2001. Its task was and still is to facilitate and document knowledge and experiences in agroecology and the use of participatory methods, as well as to create open platforms for fruitful exchange. This is done at local level with small-scale farmers in rural and peri-urban areas as well as in national and international exchange with colleagues and partner organisations. The aim of Agrecol–Andes is to promote site-appropriate and sustainable agriculture and rural development in the Andean region of Bolivia. To this end, cultivation techniques and marketing strategies adapted through participatory processes are tested and disseminated. Agrecol–Andes is a member of the Prolinnova network in Bolivia.

You can find a detailed description of the two networking points here.

AgriBioServices

http://agribioservices.org/
The independent NGO Agriculture Biologique et ses Services (AgriBioServices) was founded in 2019 and is based in Thiès, Senegal. Its aim is to promote the recognition and inclusion of local innovation by vulnerable groups as an entry point in the fight against food insecurity. It works closely with Agrecol–Afrique and the Prolinnova network. In collaboration with Agrecol–Afrique and other partners in Senegal, AgriBioServices founded CraBes (Centre des Ressources en Agriculture Biologique et Economie Sociale et Solidaire) in Thiès. It is also a leading partner in the Sahel Vert Centre for research and training in agroecology and organic farming.

CELEP: Coalition of European Lobbies for Eastern African Pastoralism

http://www.celep.info
The Coalition of European Lobbies for Eastern African Pastoralism (CELEP), an advocacy group of European organisations and experts that cooperate with organisations of and for pastoralists in Eastern Africa. Members and partners combine efforts to put pressure on their national governments and on European and Eastern African organisations to support postoralism and pastoralists in Eastern Africa. Pastoralism is agroecology in the drylands. Agrecol is a member of the core group of CELEP and is in charge of its website; contact person is Ann Waters-Bayer – waters-bayer [at] web [dot] de

GFAR: Global Forum on Agricultural Research and Innovation

http://www.gfar.net
The Global Forum on Agricultural Research and Innovation (GFAR), an international multi-stakeholder platform that enables all those concerned with the future of agriculture and its role in development around the world to meet and discuss the most important issues. Agrecol is registered as a partner in GFAR as a non-governmental organisation in the field of agriculture, food and rural development; contact person is Lorenz Bachmann – l [dot] bachmann [at] gmx [dot] de

Prolinnova: Promoting local innovation in ecologically oriented agriculture and natural resource management

http://www.prolinnova.net/
Promoting local innovation in ecologically oriented agriculture and natural resource management (Prolinnova); International network which promotes local innovation processes in agroecology and in the management of natural resources. It focuses on the recognition of the dynamics of indigenous knowledge and on strengthening the capacities of small-scale family farmers in adapting to change. Agrecol is the contact point in the Global North, contact person is Ann Waters-Bayer – waters-bayer [at] web [dot] de

UNCCD: United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification

https://www.unccd.int
Agrecol is a Civil Society Organisation (CSO) accredited to the United Nations Convention to Combat Desertification (UNCCD). The convention was adopted in 1994 and since then has been advocating for arid and semi-arid regions, for the protection of vegetation in these regions, and for sustainable land use by the people living there. It addresses various topics such as agriculture and drought disasters, biodiversity, climate and the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs). There are various projects, among others to support the "Great Green Wall" in the Sahel. This should stop the further advance of the Sahara desert. Every year, there are international meetings in different countries. As an accredited CSO, Agrecol can participate and elect representatives. Agrecol’s contact person is Lea Forster – legafo [at] gmx [dot] de

Links

Die Agrecol-Vernetzungsstellen im Senegal und in Bolivien

Aus der Dezentralisierung der Agrecol-Dokumentationsstelle in Langenbruck, Schweiz, in den 1990er Jahren sind zwei Vernetzungsstellen hervorgegangen: AgrecolAfrique in Senegal und AgrecolAndes in Bolivien. Sie wollen dazu beitragen, dass Bäuerinnen und Bauern, BeraterInnen und ForscherInnen in bäuerlichen Organisationen, bei nicht-staatlichen Entwicklungsorganisationen wie auch staatlichen Diensten landwirtschaftliche Konzepte und Methoden entwickeln, erproben und verbreiten, die den lokalen ökologischen Bedingungen angepasst, ökonomisch sinnvoll, und sozial und kulturell verträglich sind.

Sowohl AgrecolAfrique als auch AgrecolAndes sind eigenständige Organisationen.

AgrecolAfrique

http://www.agrecolafrique.org
AgrecolAfrique ist eine Nicht-Regierungs-Organisation (NRO), die seit 1996 Projekte zur Förderung ökologischer Landwirtschaft im Senegal durchführt. Sitz der Organisation ist die Stadt Thiès. AgrecolAfrique setzt sich für Nahrungsmittelsicherheit im Senegal und West-Afrika ein. Unter Einbeziehung verschiedener Akteure der landwirtschaftlichen und ländlichen Entwicklung leisten die Mitarbeiter von AgrecolAfrique Informationsarbeit, Ausbildung und Beratung im Bereich ökologischer Landwirtschaft. AgrecolAfrique ist als tragendes Mitglied in einem 2009 gegründeten nationalen Verband zur Förderung des ökologischen Landbaus tätig (FENAB Fédération Nationale pour l’Agriculture Biologique). Die Organisation koordiniert die Arbeit im Prolinnova (Promoting Local Innovation in ecologically oriented agriculture and natural resource management) Netzwerk im Senegal.

AgrecolAndes

http://www.agrecolandes.org
Im Jahr 2001 wurde die Stiftung AgrecolAndes gegründet. Ihre Aufgabe war und ist es, agrarökologisches Wissen und Erfahrungen zu schaffen, zu dokumentieren und Plattformen für einen fruchtbaren Austausch zu schaffen. Dies geschieht im Bereich der Arbeit mit Kleinbauern im ländlichen und periurbanen Raum genauso wie im nationalen und internationalen Austausch mit KollegInnen und Partnerorganisationen. Ziel von AgrecolAndes ist es, eine standortgerechte Landwirtschaft und ländliche Entwicklung in den andinen Regionen Boliviens zu fördern. Dazu werden angepasste Anbautechniken und Vermarktungsstrategien erprobt und verbreitet.

Hier gibt es eine ausführliche Beschreibung der beiden Vernetzungsstellen.

AgriBioServices: Agriculture Biologique et ses Services

http://agribioservices.org/
Die unabhängige NRO Agriculture Biologique et ses Services (AgriBioServices) wurde 2019 gegründet und hat ihren Sitz in Thiès, Senegal. Ihr Ziel ist es, die Anerkennung und Einbeziehung lokaler Innovationen durch gefährdete Gruppen als Ansatzpunkt im Kampf gegen die Ernährungsunsicherheit zu fördern. Sie arbeitet eng mit Agrecol–Afrique und dem Netzwerk Prolinnova zusammen. AgriBioServices hat in Zusammenarbeit mit Agrecol–Afrique und anderen Partnern im Senegal das Zentrum CraBes (Centre de Ressources en Agriculture Biologique et Economie Sociale et Solidaire) in Thiès gegründet. Sie ist auch ein führender Partner des Sahel Vert Zentrums für Forschung und Ausbildung in Agrarökologie und biologischer Landwirtschaft.

CELEP: Coalition of European Lobbies for Eastern African Pastoralism

http://www.celep.info
Coalition of European Lobbies for Eastern African Pastoralism (CELEP), eine Lobbygruppe europäischer Organisationen und Fachleute, die mit Organisationen von und für Pastoralisten in Ostafrika zusammenarbeiten. Die Mitglieder und Partner bündeln ihre Kräfte, um bei ihren nationalen Regierungen und bei europäischen und ostafrikanischen Institutionen einzuwirken, damit der Pastoralismus und die Pastoralisten in Ostafrika unterstützt werden. Pastoralismus ist Agrarökologie in Trockengebieten. Agrecol ist Mitglied der Kerngruppe von CELEP und betreut ihre Website; Kontaktperson ist Ann Waters-Bayer – waters-bayer [at] web [dot] de

GFAR: Global Forum on Agricultural Research and Innovation

http://www.gfar.net
Global Forum on Agricultural Research and Innovation (GFAR) / Globales Forum für Agrarforschung und Innovation; eine internationale Multistakeholder-Plattform, die es allen, die sich mit der Zukunft der Landwirtschaft und ihrer Rolle in der Entwicklung auf der ganzen Welt befassen, ermöglicht, zusammenzukommen und die wichtigsten Themen zu behandeln. Agrecol ist als Partner in GFAR eingetragen und zwar als Nichtregierungsorganisation in den Bereichen Landwirtschaft, Ernährung und ländliche Entwicklung; Kontaktperson ist Lorenz Bachmann – l [dot] bachmann [at] gmx [dot] de

Prolinnova: Promoting local innovation in ecologically oriented agriculture and natural resource management

http://www.prolinnova.net
Promoting local innovation in ecologically oriented agriculture and natural resource management (Prolinnova); Internationales Netzwerk, die lokale Innovationsprozesse in der Agrarökologie und im Management natürlicher Ressourcen fördert. Im Mittelpunkt stehen die Anerkennung der Dynamik des indigenen Wissens und die Stärkung der Kapazitäten der Kleinbauern/-bäuerinnen zur Anpassung an den Wandel. Agrecol ist der Kontaktpunkt im Globalen Norden; Kontaktperson ist Ann Waters-Bayer – waters-bayer [at] web [dot] de

UNCCD: Konvention der Vereinten Nationen gegen die Ausbreitung der Wüsten

https://www.unccd.int
Agrecol ist als eine Organisation der Zivilgesellschaft (CSO) bei der Konvention der Vereinten Nationen gegen die Ausbreitung der Wüsten (UNCCD) akkreditiert. Die Konvention wurde 1994 verabschiedet und tritt seitdem für die ariden und semiariden Regionen, den Vegetationschutz in diesen Regionen, sowie die nachhaltige Landnutzung durch die dort lebende Bevölkerung ein. Es werden verschiedene Themen, wie Landwirtschaft und Dürrekatastrophen, Biodiversität, Klima und die Nachhaltigkeitsziele (SDGs) behandelt. Es gibt verschiedene Projekte, unter anderem zur Unterstützung der „Grünen Mauer“ in der Sahelzone. Diese soll das weitere Vordringen der Sahara Wüste aufhalten. Jedes Jahr gibt es internationale Treffen in verschiedenen Ländern. Als eine akkreditierte CSO kann Agrecol dort teilnehmen sowie Vertreter*innen wählen. Die Kontaktperson bei Agrecol ist Lea Forster – legafo [at] gmx [dot] de